» Destination's informations

Back to map

Prince-Edward Islands

Flag Prince-Edward Islands Prince Edward Island (PEI or P.E.I.) is a Canadian province consisting of an island of the same name, as well as other islands. The maritime province is the smallest in the nation in both land area and population (excluding the territories). The island has a few other names: "Garden of the Gulf" referring to the pastoral scenery and lush agricultural lands throughout the province; and "Birthplace of Confederation", referring to the Charlottetown Conference in 1864, although PEI did not join the confederation itself until 1873 when it became the seventh Canadian province.
According to the 2009 estimates, Prince Edward Island has 141,000 residents.


Map Prince-Edward Islands Capital : Charlottetown
Largest metro : Charlottetown
Population : 140 402
Abbreviation : PE
Main Cities : Charlottetown, Summerside, Cavendish, Borden, Souris