» Destination's informations

Back to map

Yukon Territory

Flag Yukon Territory Yukon Territory or the Yukon is the westernmost and smallest of Canada's three federal territories. It was named after the Yukon River. The word Yukon means "Great River" in Gwich’in. The territory's capital is Whitehorse.
The territory was created in 1898 as the Yukon. The federal government's most recent update of the Yukon Act in 2003 confirmed "Yukon", rather than "Yukon Territory", as the current usage standard. The largest ethnic group in the territory is English, followed by First Nations. Yukon law recognizes First Nations languages, but only considers French and English as official languages.


Map Yukon Territory Capital : Whitehorse
Largest metro : Whitehorse
Population : 33 442
Abbreviation : YT
Main cities : Whitehorse, Watson Lake, Dawson, Carcross