» Destination's informations

Back to map


Flag Nunavut Nunavut is the largest and newest federal territory of Canada; it was separated officially from the Northwest Territories on April 1, 1999, via the Nunavut Act and the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Act, though the actual boundaries had been established in 1993. The creation of Nunavut – meaning "our land" in Inuktitut – resulted in the first major change to Canada's map since the incorporation of the new province of Newfoundland in 1949.


Map Nunavut Capital : Ilaquit
Largest metro : Ilaquit
Population : 31 556
Abbreviation : NU
Main city : Ilaquit